FSPA Supported Legislators Take Top Committee Appointments for the 2021 Florida Legislative Session

This week, Senate President Senator Wilton Simpson and Speaker of the House Representative Chris Sprowls announced their picks to lead the House and Senate Policy Committees for the 2021 – 2022 Legislative Sessions. Among the list of influential policy committee chairs are 16 legislators who were supported by FSPA during the 2020 election. Many of the FSPA supported legislators will serve on policy committees that will address issues important to FSPA. With the announcement of the 2021 – 2022 Policy Committee Chairs FSPA is expecting a very productive legislative session next year.


See the full listing of 2021 – 2022 House of Representative and Senate Committee Chairs below, FSPA supported legislatures are marked in green. 


2021 FL House Committee Chairs

Speaker of the House

Rep. Chris Sprowls

Speaker Pro Tempore

Rep. Brian Avila

Majority Leader

Rep. Michael Grant

Appropriations Chair

Rep. Jay Turmbull

Rules Committee Chair

Rep. Paul Renner

Commerce Committee Chair

Rep. Blaise Ingolia

Education & Employment Chair

Rep. Chris Latvala

Health & Human Services Chair

Rep. Colleen Burton

Judiciary Chair

Rep. Daniel Perez

State Affairs Chair

Rep. Ralph Massullo

Ways & Means Chair

Rep. Bobby Payne

Pandemics & Public Emergencies Chair

Rep. Tom Leek

Redistricting Chair

Rep. Tom Leek

Public Integrity & Elections Chair

Rep. Erin Grall



2021 Florida Senate Committee Chairs

Senate President

Sen. Wilton Simpson

Senate President Pro Tempore

Sen. Aaron Bean

Republican Leader

Sen. Debbie Mayfield

Democratic Leader

Sen. Gary Farmer

Agriculture Chair

Sen. Darryl Rouson

Appropriations Chair

Sen. Kelli Stargel

Appropriations Sub Committee on Agriculture, Environment, and General Government Chair

Sen. Ben Albritton

Banking and Insurance Chair

Sen. Jim Boyd

Children, Families, and Elder Affairs

Sen. Lauren Book

Commerce and Tourism Chair

Sen. Ed Hooper

Community Affairs Chair

Sen. Jennifer Bradley

Criminal Justice Chair

Sen. Jason Pizzo

Education Chair

Sen. Joe Gruters

Environment and National Recourses Chair

Sen. Jason Brodeur

Ethics and Elections Chair

Sen. Dennis Baxley

Finance and Tax Chair

Sen. Ana Maria Rodriguez

Government Oversight and Accountability

Sen. Ray Rodrigues

Health Policy Chair

Sen. Manny Diaz

Judiciary Chair

Sen. Jeff Brandes

Military and Veterans Affairs, Space, and Domestic Security Chair

Sen. Tom Wright

Regulated Industries Chair

Sen. Travis Hutson

Rules Committee Chair

Sen. Kathleen Passidomo

Transportation Committee Chair

Sen. Gayle Harrell

Select Committee on Pandemic Preparedness and Response Chair

Sen. Danny Burgess

Joint Legislative Budget Commission Alt. Chair

Sen. Kelli Stargel

Joint Administrative Procedures Committee Alt. Chair

Sen. Ben Albritton

Joint Committee on Public Counsel Oversight Alt. Chair

Sen. Bobby Powell

Joint Legislative Auditing Committee Alt. Chair

Sen. Dennis Baxley

Joint Select Committee on Collective Bargaining Alt. Chair

Sen. Ray Rodrigues