Chapter News

Tuesday, September 1, 2020

April 2021 Chapter News

Northeast Florida Chapter

Northeast Florida

Chapter Coordinator: Debi Garner
(941) 952-9293



The Board of Directors met on March 10 and followed by the first chapter meeting in a year!  It was so good to see everyone out. There was a nice turnout with more than 32 members in attendance!

Chapter President John Garner, Pools by John Garner, spoke about the changes to ANSI-7 along with FEMA guidelines. The flood plan guidance from FEMA has been adopted and went into the new Building Code, effective January 1, 2021. Congratulations to John Garner and Dallas Theisen for getting this accomplished!  Many, many hours were spent and we are very appreciative!  Additionally, in the upcoming legislative session, pool builders should receive the Jim Walter exemption if the legislation passes.

Board member Bill Hodgkins, IRM Payroll and Insurance educated us all on the trends in the insurance business, both on the business side as well as the personal side. Kerry Tait, Insurance by Ken Brown, added some additional comments.  A good question and answer period followed.

Debi Garner, current Chapter Coordinator discussed the highlights and benefits of being a member of FSPA.  She also went over the changes to permitting documents for the City of Jacksonville that will take effect May 1. The new barrier form can start being used on April 1. There was much discussion regarding the contractor’s liability by signing the new form. The tentative calendar of events was discussed for the remainder of the year.

April 16 the Chapter will host its annual Golf Tournament; we will be at The Champions Course at Julington Creek. Registration begins at 8:00 a.m. and a shotgun start at 9:00 a.m. Get your teams together now!

Here is our calendar for the year:

May 12 – CE credit class with Fluidra (thanks Connor!)

June – Deep Sea Fishing! We plan on buying out the boat – a maximum of 35 people.  You will only have to bring what you want to eat and drink, everything else is covered!

July – Employee/employer training

August - CE class

September 10 – Skeet Shoot

October – Oktoberfest at Speck Pumps

November 17 – Table Top

December – no meeting


Congratulations to Kerry Tait, Insurance by Ken Brown, and Chris Clayton, Stellar Sales Alliance, for being the lucky winners in the gift card drawings!

As always, this is your Chapter – make the most of it by attending meetings and participating in the events.  Speak up - if there are things you want to see us do, let us know! We are always looking for new ideas and we would really like to see some new people interested in serving on the Board of Directors.